Tory Gay Group ‘delighted’ with number of new gay Tory MPs

LGBTory, the Conservative LGBT Group, today expressed pleasure at the number of openly-gay Conservative MPs in the new House of Commons following last week’s General Election.

The Conservatives now have the largest number of openly-gay MPs of any Party represented in Parliament, with at least ten gay MPs sitting on the Tory benches following last week’s General Election – compared to Labour with 8 newly-elected gay MPs. LGBTory has profiled these successes on its website, including Parliament’s second lesbian MP, Margot James, who was elected as Conservative MP for Stourbridge. Ms James has been the Vice Chair of the Conservatives for some time but now takes her place in the new House of Commons together with Iain Stewart, elected in Milton Keynes South; Nick Boles in Grantham and Stamford and Stuart Andrew in Pudsey, Yorkshire.

Matthew Sephton, Chairman of LGBTory, commented:

“I am delighted that so many openly-gay Conservative MPs have been elected at this General Election, in contrasting seats geographically spread right across the country. The modern Conservative Party is an inclusive Party and having more openly-gay Conservative MPs in Parliament is an extremely positive step forward for equality and also for representation for the LGBT community.”

He continued
“The ten gay MPs we have highlighted on the LGBTory website will, I am sure, be excellent representatives for their respective communities and also be strident ambassadors for the LGBT community too.”

Two more openly-gay candidates who were not successful at this election but came within a whisker of being elected were Nick King in Dorset Mid and Poole North and David Gold in Eltham. Combined with the 10 confirmed as elected this time, these Parliamentary hopefuls will no doubt be seen again very soon and will only add to the increasing diversity of candidates and people generally in the Conservative Party.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here