Martina Navratilova, Colin Firth, Jane Lynch Simon Amstell, The Times– all nominated for Stonewall Awards

Stonewall today announces the full shortlists for its 2010 Awards ceremony, which celebrates champions of gay equality and is held at London’s glitzy V&A on 4 November.

Actors Jane Lynch, Colin Firth and John Partridge, musician Kele Okereke and writer/actor Simon Amstell are shortlisted for ‘Entertainer of the Year’.

EastEnders, Emmerdale and Coronation Street are among the nominees battling it out for Broadcast of the Year. The Times and Attitude are among the titles competing for ‘Publication of the Year’.

Daily Mirror and The Sun sports commentators John Cross and Bill Leckie, and The Times columnist Caitlin Moran are among those shortlisted for ‘Journalist of the Year’. ‘Writer of the Year’ nominees include Booker Prize shortlist nominees Emma Donoghue for Room and Damon Galgut for In a Strange Room.

Nominated politicians include Speaker John Bercow, Lord Avebury, Baroness Campbell of Surbiton and Councillor Steve Reed, leader of Lambeth Council.

Winners from these categories and Sports Award, Publication and Broadcast of the Year will be chosen by a celebrity judging panel including radio and TV presenter Paddy O’Connell and author Sarah Waters. Other judges include Margot James MP and Eileen Gallagher, the co-founder of Shed Productions – the company behind Bad Girls and Footballers’ Wives.

Voting is currently taking place for three other categories by thousands of Stonewall supporters across Britain. ‘Hero of the Year’ nominees include rugby legend Gareth Thomas and ‘Bigot of the year’ nominees include AA Gill, whose stinging personal attack on Clare Balding led to a successful PCC complaint against him.

Ben Summerskill, Stonewall Chief Executive, said: ‘This year’s Stonewall Awards nominees include openly-gay sport stars, flagship soap operas, mainstream lesbian, gay and straight entertainers, tabloid and quality broadsheet journalists and politicians from all three main parties. The diversity of those in the running for an award demonstrates how gay equality has embedded itself into 21st century British life – which we think is a real cause for celebration.’

The fifth annual Stonewall Awards ceremony, hosted by Sue Perkins, takes place on Thursday 4 November at the V&A in London. The evening begins at 7pm with a champagne and canapé reception. After the ceremony the evening continues with further champagne and food.

Tickets are £150 + VAT. To book contact / 020 7593 2294.

Thanks to the generous support of Square Peg Media, Prudential, and Herbert Smith, every pound from ticket sales will go towards Stonewall’s key campaigns, including its groundbreaking Education for All programme, which tackles homophobic bullying in Britain’s schools.


Stonewall Awards 2010 – Shortlists
Entertainer of the Year
Simon Amstell
Colin Firth
Jane Lynch
Kele Okereke
John Partridge

Broadcast of the Year
Coronation Street (ITV)
Dispatches-Africa’s Last Taboo (Channel 4)
EastEnders (BBC)
Emmerdale (ITV)
The Sex Education Show (Channel 4)

Journalist of the Year
John Cross
Bill Leckie
Caitlin Moran
Martin Popplewell
Patrick Strudwick

Politician of the Year
Lord Avebury
Rt Hon John Bercow MP
Baroness Campbell of Surbiton
Councillor Steve Reed

Writer of the Year
Emma Donoghue, Room
Stella Duffy, Theodora: Actress, Empress, Whore
Damon Galgut, In a Strange Room
Jackie Kay, Red Dust Road
Rupert Smith, Man’s World

Publication of the Year
The Lawyer
Midlands Zone
Radio Times
The Times

Sports Award of the Year
The Caledonian Thebans
Daniel Kowalski
Martina Navratilova
Lee Pearson
Cristiano Ronaldo


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here